Happy 96th Beverly Cleary!

I’m not saying I wouldn’t have had some kind of childhood without the books of Beverly Cleary, but I think it’s fair to say it might not have been much of one.  And I’m sure I’m not the only person who feels this way.  Henry Huggins, his dog Ribsy, Beezus and Ramona and all the other children and residents of Klickitat Street were sometimes more real to me than the world outside my own front door.  From the introduction of Henry Huggins in 1950 Beverly Cleary has probably done more for children’s literature, or literature in general for that matter, than any other author.  For the first time children could finally pick up her books and read about children just like themselves.  And that’s no small accomplishment.  So it’s no wonder that along the way Beverly Cleary has won three Newbery Awards.  A National Medal of Arts.  And The Library of Congress has named her a Living Legend.  Today she is 96.  Happy Birthday Beverly, from Henry, Ribsy, Beezus, Ramona, and me.  As well as countless children around the world whose lives and hearts you touched.

“Quite often somebody will say, ‘What year do your books take place?’ and the only answer I can give is, in childhood.”
― Beverly Cleary

2 thoughts on “Happy 96th Beverly Cleary!

Leave a Reply

